COMMISSION DECISION

of 28 January 2019

on public holidays for 2020 for the institutions of the European Union

(2019/C 38/05)

THE EUROPEAN COMMISSION,

Having regard to the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union,

Having regard to the Staff Regulations of Officials of the European Union and the Conditions of Employment of Other Servants of the European Union (CEOS), laid down by Council Regulation (EEC, Euratom, ECSC) No 259/68 (1), and in particular Article 61 thereof and Articles 16 and 91 of the CEOS,

Having regard to the joint rules establishing the list of public holidays of officials of the European Communities, and in particular Article 1(3) thereof,

Whereas:

- (1) The list of public holidays in 2020 for staff in Brussels and Luxembourg should be adopted pursuant to Article 61 of the Staff Regulations of Officials of the European Union and Articles 16 and 91 of the CEOS.
- (2) In 2020, Easter Sunday falls on 12 April.
- (3) In 2020, 24 December falls on a Thursday.
- (4) On 7 November 2018, the Heads of Administration were consulted for their opinion on the list of public holidays for 2020,

HAS DECIDED AS FOLLOWS:

Article 1

The public holidays for 2020 for the institutions of the European Union shall be established for Brussels and Luxembourg.

1 January	Wednesday, New Year's Day
2 January	Thursday, day after New Year's Day
9 April	Maundy Thursday
10 April	Good Friday
13 April	Easter Monday
1 May	Friday, Labour Day
21 May	Thursday, Ascension Day
22 May	Friday, the day after Ascension Day
1 June	Whit Monday
21 July	Tuesday, Belgian National Holiday
2 November	Monday, All Souls' Day

⁽¹⁾ OJ L 56, 4.3.1968, p. 1.

24 December to 31 December	Thursday Thursday 6 end-of-year days
TOTAL	17 days

Article 2

For Luxembourg, Tuesday 21 July is replaced by Tuesday 23 June, the Luxembourg national holiday.

Article 3

Work will resume as normal on Monday 4 January 2021.

Article 4

Without prejudice to the entire final schedule of public holidays for 2021, Friday 1 January 2021 will be a holiday.

Done at Brussels, 28 January 2019.

For the Commission
Günther OETTINGER
Member of the Commission